Chapin LibGuides: Class 12: A More Beautiful Question: society

reference databases

American History Online This link opens in a new window
This source features thousands of reference articles on American political, military, social, and cultural history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
This database explores the daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, providing details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.

reference books

Working Americans 1880-2016: Social Movements by Laura Mars (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781682171059
Gender Roles in American Life: A Documentary History of Political, Social, and Economic Changes by Constance L. Shehan (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
American Decades Series by Vincent Tompkins (Editor); Victor Bondi (Editor); Judith Baughman
Call Number: eBook

secondary sources: scholarly journals

Another type of secondary source is a scholarly journal article. These are much shorter than books, but also much more specific. You won't find a complete biography of Fannie Lou Hamer in a scholarly journal article, but rather an analysis of her life or work. Scholarly journal articles often have a thesis and a specific point of view, which is something to keep in mind as you read and take notes.

Here are a few databases that contain scholarly journal articles:

General OneFile (NOVEL) This link opens in a new window
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources – newspapers, reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, and hobbies.

NOTE: access to this database is provided to the Chapin community through NOVEL (New York Online Virtual Electronic Library). It is accessible to New Yorkers through geoIP authentication (also referred to as geolocation), meaning you must be within the state of New York to use it.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.