Chapin LibGuides: Class 12: SHS Mini-Documentary: reference and scholarly sources

Welcome to the research guide for Senior History Seminar's Mini-Documentary Project!

Linked below are the resources that will help you move through the research process and develop your pitch.

Remember, you need to incorporate the following into the script:

1-2 audio, video, or static visual images created in 2024
2-3 audio and/or video clips of archival material
2-3 archival static visual images
3-4 quotations from written scholarly material

Image: Still of gymnasts from the Soviet documentary film Pageant of Russia, 1947. Photograph. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest.

Don't know your library number? Send an email to Ms. Oldham!
Need help finding OR figuring out a source? Send an email to Ms. Oldham!
Confused about citations? Send an email to Ms. Oldham!

reference databases

American History Online
This source features thousands of reference articles on American political, military, social, and cultural history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Issues & Controversies
Explore hundreds of contemporary hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
Issues & Controversies in History
This resource places students at the center of the great debates and conflicts in U.S. and world history, exploring the issues as the key players saw them, or, in some cases, as historians have interpreted them.

finding books

You can find books in two places: in the stacks at the library and in our eBook database.

This is a link to the library catalog, where you can find all the physical books the library has in its collection

This is a link to our scholarly eBook database, where you can find over 100,000 books from academic and university presses

databases with scholarly sources

Academic Search Ultimate
This multidisciplinary database provides the full text of more than 9,500 journals, including more than 8,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.
Gale in Context: U.S. History
This database provides reference and secondary source information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.