Chapin LibGuides: Class 10: Spring Research Paper: introduction

Welcome to the research guide for the Class 10 Spring Research Project!

In this research paper on a contemporary global issue, you'll be answering this research question:

How and why did a global issue develop over time, and what has made it especially urgent in recent years?

Even though you are addressing a global issue, you'll still need to narrow down your topic. Consider using the Research Triangle at the right for pathways to help you get more specific, no matter which corner at which you start!

Don't know your library number? Send an email to Ms. Oldham!
Need help finding OR figuring out a source? Send an email to Ms. Oldham!
Confused about citations? Send an email to Ms. Oldham!

places to start

Our World in Data
Our World in Data is a scientific online publication that focuses on large global problems such as poverty, disease, hunger, climate change, war, existential risks, and inequality.

CRF Backgrounders
The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher. Their Backgrounders series is a collection of authoritative, accessible, and regularly updated primers on hundreds of foreign policy topics.

IMF Reports
Reports and publications of the International Monetary Fund arranged, by country name.

reference databases

Modern World History Online
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.

World History: The Modern Era (ABC-CLIO)
Provides for comprehensive study of the emergence of the modern world, covering the history of the world from 1500 to the present.

Issues & Controversies
Explore hundreds of contemporary hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
NOTE: Keep in mind that this database is primarily US-centric. Use it as a jumping off point to help you understand contemporary issues.

Opposing Viewpoints (NOVEL)
This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes, and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.

NOTE: access to this database is provided to the Chapin community through NOVEL (New York Online Virtual Electronic Library). It is accessible to New Yorkers through geoIP authentication (also referred to as geolocation), meaning you must be within the state of New York to use it.

World Geography and Culture Online
This reference database provides a comprehensive overview of countries and U.S. states, with information on people and cultures, geography, government, and more.

cite with noodletools

Citations are vital to the research process.

Use NoodleTools to create and track citations, take notes, save time, increase your credibility, and ensure your academic integrity.