Chapin LibGuides: Election 2024: issue tracking resources

subscription databases

Issues & Controversies
Explore hundreds of contemporary hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.

Opposing Viewpoints (NOVEL)
This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes, and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.

NOTE: access to this database is provided to the Chapin community through NOVEL (New York Online Virtual Electronic Library). It is accessible to New Yorkers through geoIP authentication (also referred to as geolocation), meaning you must be within the state of New York to use it.

ProQuest Central Student
A multidisciplinary database with full text scholarly journals, popular press, and more covering science, technology, education, social sciences, humanities, and news.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine (NOVEL)
Full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a variety of personal health information sources.

NOTE: access to this database is provided to the Chapin community through NOVEL (New York Online Virtual Electronic Library). It is accessible to New Yorkers through geoIP authentication (also referred to as geolocation), meaning you must be within the state of New York to use it.

policy centers and think tanks

American Policy Directory (University of Oregon)
This is a list of policy centers and think tanks, organized by their area of focus. This is where you can find analysis and advocacy from all perspectives on US national public policy.

Below are just some of the organizations linked on this list, listed in alphabetical order.
Annenberg Public Policy Center
Since 1993, "APPC’s work has informed the policy debates around campaign finance, children’s television, Internet privacy, tobacco advertising and the tone of discourse in Washington."
Brookings Institution
A left-leaning think tank that conducts "in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level."
Cato Institute
A libertarian think tank dedicated to "the principles of individual liberty, limited government, free markets and peace."
Economic Policy Institute
A nonpartisan organization that seeks to include "the needs of low- and middle-income workers in economic policy discussions" in the areas of fair pay, affordable health care, and retirement.
Heritage Foundation
A conservative think tank dedicated to providing "public policies based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values, and a strong national defense."
Pew Charitable Trust
"Pew’s national policy agenda has included work to improve the safety of food, drugs, and medical devices; address the challenge of antibiotic resistance; foster a robust dialogue on economic mobility; and provide consumers with better information about financial products."
RAND
A nonpartisan institution that provides objective analysis on "security, health, education, sustainability, growth, and development."