Chapin LibGuides: Class 9: Krik? Krak! Research Project: reference sources

Welcome to the Krik? Krak! research guide!

Linked throughout are resources that will help you as you move through the research process and write about your chosen allusion.

Remember, there are two facets to the research for this project: learning about your allusion and evaluating the appropriateness and credibility of your sources.

As you look for your two sources, remember to consider the who-what-when-where-why of source evaluation. That is the information you will be putting in your annotated bibliography.

Image: Flowers are sold to observers of Day of the Dead celebrations which are held in conjunction with the Catholic holidays of All Saints' Day (November 1) and All Souls' Day (November 2) at the National Cemetery in Port-au-Prince November 2, 2010 in Port au Prince, Haiti.. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica.

Don't know your library number? Send an email to Ms. Oldham!
Need help finding OR figuring out a source? Send an email to Ms. Oldham!
Confused about citations? Send an email to Ms. Oldham!

reference eBooks

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: eBook
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Colin A. Palmer; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: eBook
U-X-L Encyclopedia of World Biography
Call Number: eBook

reference databases

African American History Online
This source features thousands of reference articles, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Britannica Academic (NOVEL)
Overview articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.

NOTE: access to this database is provided to the Chapin community through NOVEL (New York Online Virtual Electronic Library). It is accessible to New Yorkers through geoIP authentication (also referred to as geolocation), meaning you must be within the state of New York to use it.
Daily Life Through History (ABC-CLIO)
This database explores the daily lives of ordinary people through time and across the globe, providing details about family life, work, food, clothing, sports, language, literature, romance, education, gender roles, social customs, and more.
Modern World History Online
This reference database covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history from the mid 15th century to the present. Some primary sources may also be found here.