Chapin LibGuides: Class 10: Resistance Movements: secondary sources

Looking for more information? This is where secondary sources comes in.

Remember, the goal isn't to read an entire book.
Instead, you'll be reading specific pages or sections within a book that relate to your topic. Use the index and table of contents to help guide you to those pages.

§§

You can find books in two places: in the stacks at the library and in our eBook database.

This is a link to the library catalog, where you can find all the physical books the library has in its collection

This is a link to our scholarly eBook database, where you can find over 100,000 books from academic and university presses

secondary sources: websites

secondary sources: databases

JSTOR
This multidisciplinary database provides access to full text scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences.

Academic OneFile (NOVEL)
This database provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature and The Economist. In addition, it contains hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC.

NOTE: access to this database is provided to the Chapin community through NOVEL (New York Online Virtual Electronic Library). It is accessible to New Yorkers through geoIP authentication (also referred to as geolocation), meaning you must be within the state of New York to use it.

news sources

All members of the Chapin community free digital access to the New York Times.
Here is how to set up your account for the first time or renew your existing account:

Visit to nytimes.com/passes and create an account using your Chapin email address
Then, open your email and look for a confirmation email from the Times (be sure to check your spam folder if nothing arrives within 5 minutes)
After clicking the confirmation message, select the appropriate descriptor (Student) and graduation year
Your registration is now complete!

International Newsstream
The most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, including The Guardian, the BBC, Le Monde, China Daily, the Jerusalem Post, Al Jazeera, and more.