Skip to Main Content

Annotated Bibliographies 101

Welcome to the annotated bibliographies guide!

Here is where you can find information on what they are, why we do them, and how to make them. Below you can find overall guidance on all annotated bibliographies, regardless of the subject. However, you should check in with your teacher if you're not sure what is expected for a particular assignment.

We recommend you use NoodleTools to create and annotate your citations. Have a NoodleTools account but can't remember how to log in? Email Ms. Oldham!

overview of annotated bibliographies

What is an annotated bibliography?

Why do we even do annotated bibliographies anyway?

  • A good research paper needs an argument that is compelling, arguable, specific, and answerable (CASA). You can only develop this CASA argument when you've done research and have a robust bibliography of a variety of sources. Collecting sources for a bibliography is useful for a variety of reasons, but when you have to write annotations for each source, you're forced to read each source more carefully. You begin to read critically instead of just collecting information.

    Writing an annotated bibliography can help you gain a good perspective on what is being said about your topic. By reading and responding to a variety of sources on a topic, you'll start to see what the issues are, what people are arguing about, and you'll then be able to develop your own point of view. 

Should I write my annotations as I take notes on a source?

  • No. You should write your annotations after you finish taking notes, and preferably after you've taken notes on multiple sources. Annotations typically include a reflection on the value or usefulness of a source, and you won't be able to do that unless you can place that source in context with the other sources you have found over the course of your research.

How long should an annotation be?

  • There's not a set length for annotations; it depends on your own writing style, the source you are annotating, and the goal of the assignment. Some sources may only require a 3-4 sentence annotation, while others may require more summary, analysis, or reflection.

elements of an annotation

Summarize the information from the source.

  • Tip: Review the notes you took on the source. What main ideas, facts, or arguments jump out at you?

Evaluate the source from a scholarly standpoint. 

  • Tip: Consider the perspective of the source and how it compares with the other sources you have looked at. For example, is the author making an argument? Do you think they are making it successfully, or are there aspects you think are under-explored? What evidence does the author use to make their case? What are this source’s strengths and/or limitations?

Reflect on how this source fits into your overall research and understanding of the topic.

  • Tip: Refer back to your research question. How does this source help you answer that question? Did the source inform you of an additional path of inquiry? Has your research question changed since considering this source?

annotations in noodletools

You can create your annotations directly in NoodleTools by scrolling down to the "Annotation" section when you are editing a source.

After you click "Save," NoodleTools will then format the annotation and the citation for you in whichever style you have selected for the project.