Chapin LibGuides: Class 11: Memorial Project: introduction and reference sources

Welcome to the American Experience Memorial Project research guide!

Linked throughout are resources that will help you as you move through the research process and answer the three questions posed in the prompt:

What is your chosen history (i.e., who, what, when, where)?

Why should it be memorialized?

What does your proposed memorial look like and why?

If you have any questions, simply stop by the library!

Right: Ellen and William Craft. The Granger Collection, New York.

reference databases

African American History Online
This source features thousands of reference articles, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
American History Online
This source features thousands of reference articles on American political, military, social, and cultural history over the past 500 years. Some primary sources may also be found here.
Britannica Academic (NOVEL)
Overview articles from one of the oldest and most trusted reference sources in the world.

NOTE: access to this database is provided to the Chapin community through NOVEL (New York Online Virtual Electronic Library). It is accessible to New Yorkers through geoIP authentication (also referred to as geolocation), meaning you must be within the state of New York to use it.

cite with noodletools

Citations are vital to the research process.

Use NoodleTools to create and track citations, take notes, save time, increase your credibility, and ensure your academic integrity.

reference books

Abolition and Antislavery: A Historical Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic by Peter Hinks (Editor); John McKivigan (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
American Eras: Civil War and Reconstruction, 1860-1877
Call Number: eBook
Encyclopedia of American Social History by Mary K. Cayton (Editor); Elliott J. Gorn (Editor); Peter W. Williams (Editor)
Call Number: REF 301 CAY
Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by Carl Waldman
Call Number: REF 970.004 WAL
Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era by John D. Buenker; Joseph Buenker
Call Number: eBook
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century by Paul Finkelman, editor in chief.
Call Number: REF 973.5 ENC